Edna St. Vincent Millay

I have a really bad habit of buying used books.  My room is full of stacks of paperbacks that come from all over North America, whenever my stack gets a little bit low, you can guarantee that there are three books from abebooks.com, on their way.  While I was searching for biographies recently, I came across this biography of Edna St. Vincent Millay.

Truth be told, I had no idea who Edna St. Vincent Millay was (ugh, my education has failed me), but upon reading a quick blurb on her, I decided to give the book a try.  It was a much longer process than I am used to, but after a month, I managed to make my way through the fifty-eight year life span of this amazing poet.

I was absolutely fascinated by her life, her exploits, her relationships, and most importantly, her poetry.  She was an amazing writer who graced us with some of the most beautiful poems in literary history.  I also loved hearing about New York and the rest of the Northeast in the early 20th century.  It made me newly nostalgic for the Victorian era and the Jazz Age.

If you love biographies, this is a good, but challenging read.  And if you haven’t read any of the poetry of Edna St. Vincent Millay, check it out!

*This book took me a month to read, usually I read two a week!

One thought on “Edna St. Vincent Millay

Leave a little love xoxo

