Best 10 Books I’ve Read in 2010

*gothunkyourself.com

2010 was a year of reading for me.  I really upped the ante with the amount of books I’ve read, and I’ve also managed to mix up the genres.  I’ve been reading everything from biographies to classics, to style books, but here are a few of my faves:

  •  The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan.  Not a day goes by where this book doesn’t somehow come up in passing.  In fact, last night we had a conversation about it over dinner.  A must-read!
  • Classy by Derek Blasberg.  I’ve been getting a lot more into etiquette and applying classier behavior to my daily life.  Especially in a city like NYC!
  • Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell.  I used to skip school at age 8 to stay home and watch the movie.  The book is so much better!  I’m already ready to read it again!
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.  I love throwing in a classic every so often, and with Baz Luhrmann beginning his movie version, it is a book to read over and over again.
  • Water for Elephants by Sarah Gruen.  I have a really odd obsession with traveling circuses and side-shows from the depression era.  I can’t wait to see Christoph Waltz in the role of August!
  • Bright Lights, Big City by Jay McInerney.  Having exhausted Bret Easton Ellis, it only made sense that I would go to Jay McInerney next.  I love tales of debauchery in New York City in the 80s.
  • The Big Oyster by Mark Kurlansky.  My dream is to open an oyster farm in New Zealand, so reading about New York’s development as a former oyster mecca is absolutely fascinating.
  • Under the Tuscan Sun by Frances Mayes.  I adore the movie version of this book and I found a copy at the beach house we stayed at in Fire Island, it was a great beach read and made me want to start packing for Tuscany immediately!
  • Bohemian Manifesto by Laren Stover.  I will never be an actual bohemian. I don’t love mice enough to let them live in my home, and sometimes I can’t quite pull of the Stevie Nicks look, but I do love the idea of being a bohemian, and let’s be honest, this book is just plain fun.
  • 100 Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. This book was long, and tedious, and totally amazing.  Although it was difficult to get through (all the characters have similar names), when I finished the book I definitely got all the hype!
One thought on “Best 10 Books I’ve Read in 2010

Leave a little love xoxo

