Favorite Movies Released in 2010

I have spent most of 2010 either catching up on classics, or snuggling up with my boyfriend watching horror films.  I rarely make time for the movies, and hate to spend $13, unless the movie is really worth it.  But I have managed to come up with 10 whole movies that I loved this past year.

  •  Book of Eli. A film about the apocalypse with Gary Oldman in it?  I’m sold.  Add on the fact that the cinematography is absolutely stunning and I’ll be a fan for life. 
  • The Crazies. The original film is by George Romero, and the trailer was absolutely amazing.  Also, nearly any movie with Timothy Olyphant can get me to the theaters.
  • Winter’s Bone. I just watched this one the other day, and I agree that it lives up to the hype.  Jennifer Lawrence is absolutely amazing, and the Ozark setting is terrifyingly beautiful.
  • The Kids Are Alright. The cast is amazing, and the story is quirky.  With buzz about Annette Benning receiving an Oscar nom, I can only hope it will come to fruition.
  • Monsters. I loved this low-budget sci-fi thriller.  It wasn’t at all what I expected, but the relationship between our protagonists is worth the watch.
  • Machete. Since the trailer was made in 2007 with the release of Grindhouse, I have been counting down the days for this film.  I love Danny Trejo having a starring role, and Robert Rodriguez always makes me laugh and cheer with the sheer ridiculousness of it all.
  • Easy A. I love Emma Stone, I really, really do.  And this was one of those stupid movies I wanted to see by myself with a giant cherry coke on a lonely afternoon. 
  • Shutter Island. Sure, I knew what was coming at the end, but I can’t help the fascination with sanitariums and former methodology of dealing with mental illness. Also, Leo.
  • Sex and the City 2. A second film was totally unnecessary, and it didn’t even take place in New York, but I couldn’t help it.  I still love those ladies.
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1.  No explanation necessary.

There are still so many movies I haven’t gotten a chance to see from 2010 yet, Toy Story 3, Black Swan, True Grit, Hereafter, The Killer Inside Me, I Am Love, not to mention a slew of documentaries I can’t wait to watch.  It seems like I have a lot of catching up to do!

Leave a little love xoxo

