Examples of Elegance

2010 was officially my pop culture saturation point.  Let me explain.

In my transition from being a young girl to being a young adult, I feel as though I have experienced a sad decline in popular culture.  When I was growing up, I idolized smart and tough girls like Gwen Stefani, Janeane Garofalo, and Daria, and girls that were vapid, shallow, and dumb were to be mocked and used as material for clever quips. 
But something has shifted.  Whenever I turn on the television I see shows like 16 and Pregnant, Teen Mom, and My Super Sweet 16, and every day in the news we read about young starlets doing drugs, taking naked pictures of themselves, or even releasing their own sex tapes.  It always astounds me because I see all these amazing and intelligent women all over the internet in the form of bloggers, writers, stylist, decorators, bakers, and the like.  
So I’ve decided that enough is enough.  It’s time to get back to the old way of things.  I’m not suggesting that all women go back to marrying at 18 and being left to raise children while the men go off to work.  I’m merely suggesting a higher sense of class and etiquette in both our popular culture and towards one another.  
This year I’m going to strive to be a little bit more elegant, and I’m going to take that with me to this blog.  
So tell me, what/who are some examples of elegance in your mind?
One thought on “Examples of Elegance

  1. I was reading your post and I remembered Queen Rania. An example of a beautiful, intelligent woman. I've read something like this in her bio: " Her Majesty Queen Rania Al Abdullah is a mother, a wife, a boss, an advocate, and a humanitarian.She once said, “I just wake up and feel like a regular person. At the end of the day you are living your life for the people that you represent. It’s an honour and a privilege to have that chance to make a difference – a qualitative difference in people’s lives – and it’s my responsibility to make the most out of that opportunity.”

Leave a little love xoxo

