Holding Myself Accountable

Today, the gym was eerily quiet.  Every treadmill was open, and I had no need to wait for any weights.  It’s January 16th, and it’s a Sunday, shouldn’t everything be packed?

When I spoke with the lovely gym attendant, she told me that it had been packed, but has already died down post New Year.  So two weeks in the resolutions are done?  I understand that life gets busy, believe me, I was working 10 and a half hour days every day this week, but with all the benefits of exercise, how can one pass it up on their days off?

I remember reading that people who set fitness goals achieve a lot more than people who just set weight loss goals.  And ever since, this has always been my way of life.  And while I wanted to start my year with weight loss goals (ie: lose all the weight I gained a week in New Orleans), I’ve decided to go one step further.

So, in order to be held accountable for the goals I have, I’m going to post it here.  My goal for 2011 is to run a 10K by my birthday in June.

Yes, this may not sound like a big deal to some of you, but I used to cry every time I had to run the mile in gym class.  I hated running, and while I’ve warmed up to it these days, sometimes it takes every ounce of strength to get myself on a treadmill.

What are your new year’s fitness goals and resolutions?

One thought on “Holding Myself Accountable

  1. I used to cry in Gym class too. That secondary school blacktop mile really blows. It's important to do things that challenge us and I think a 10k by June is a fabulous goal. Keep running!

Leave a little love xoxo

