Examples of Elegance Reading List: Classy by Derek Blasberg

Last week I mentioned that I was over the current status quo in pop culture.  Mostly, I’m over the covers of magazines (tabloids and otherwise) being taken over by reality television stars who haven’t done much except maybe make a sex tape (Kim Kardashian, I’m looking at you). Now, I’m sure that these reality stars may be quite lovely people, however, I don’t quite understand any reason to lionize them.

That being said, I’ve spent a lot of time reading books that inspire me to change my viewpoints, my behavior, and my etiquette to fit an old school sensibility that died with the likes of Audrey Hepburn and Jackie Onassis.
One of the many books I read, was Classy by Derek Blasberg. And while Blasberg may not be Emily Post, the book made a lot of sense. Sections on how to dress appropriately, proper dinner party etiquette, and even how to deal with vices, really hit home with my everyday life. I can’t tell you how many times I have been to a party where the hostess does not know how to give a proper introduction and I am left fending for myself. Or more importantly, how to deal with constant texters, online dating, and oversharing. 
I try not to take anyone’s word as gospel, but Blasberg has done a great job of making a name for himself through etiquette, style, and zeal. I only hope that the young women reading Blasberg’s book actually take his advice, young ladies could definitely use a little class and elegance.  

Leave a little love xoxo