Style Inspiration: Suburban Girl

Usually I find myself taking inspiration from classic films. There is something about vintage clothing styles that just seems more put together and chic. But with Spring feeling like it’s right around the corner, I couldn’t help but be inspired when I watched this film on Netflix the other day.

Sarah Michelle Gellar plays Brett, an aspiring editor who falls for a man (Alec Baldwin) several years her senior. Maybe it’s my undying love of SMG, Baldwin, and the wonderful New York scenery, but this is one of my favorite underrated romantic comedies I’ve seen. SMG’s a-line skirts, flowy tops, and flats always seem so perfect for a New York Spring, and I could not stop staring at her jewelry collection throughout the film. SMG is perfectly polished, and often her clothes become a metaphor for her real life (and how true that is). The only thing I can think of when I watch this movie is how I can’t wait to take a walk through Union Square park with a cup of coffee and a good book once the sun starts shining!

Leave a little love xoxo

