Project DIY: Starting a Garden

I am lucky enough to have a backyard behind my little Brooklyn apartment. It’s not the same as my sunlit lawn in Montana, but it is big enough to have just enough space for a little garden. It has been a dream of mine to garden, not only do I get the joy of eating something I have grown, but I get the experience of learning a valuable new skill, while saving money, learning patience, and spending time in the beautiful outdoors.

It’s not the easiest thing to grow your food somewhere like New York, but now is the time, food prices are skyrocketing and it’s a chance to learn a greater independence. Okay, okay, not to get all political, but I started with a mix of some herbs, and veggies that I often buy. I bought this starter kit, and planted five pods of each choice, so hopefully some will germinate.

I can’t wait for it to get nicer, I’m going to try some squash, some root vegetables, and flowers. I can’t wait to see how it progresses!

Leave a little love xoxo

