Vacation Workout Plan

Generally, I tend to stay away from the idea of using the benefits of physical beauty as a motivation for working out, but with a beach vacation a couple weeks away, and my affinity for choosing cocktails in the sun over gym time, it’s time to get my butt in gear.

My goals are to work out 4-5 days a week, cardio on 3-4 of those days, and lifting the rest of those days. It takes me about 4 days to work through my lifting so I hit every area of my body, and so once I get that done, I like to balance it out with yoga on the fifth day (either at home or in a class). My favorite body part to work at is my shoulders, so I usually devote an entire day to working on them.

Here is an idea of how my typical week might look.

MONDAY:
Cardio/Shoulders

  • 30 minutes on the treadmill or arctrainer with sprint intervals.
  • Reverse pec deck, frontal shoulder raise, shoulder press, dumbbell raise.

TUESDAY:
Cardio/Chest & Triceps

  • 30 minutes on the treadmill or arctrainer with sprint intervals.
  • Chest press, push-ups, dumbbell fly
  • Tricep dips, overhead tricep press, tricep pull down.


WEDNESDAY:
Cardio/Back & Biceps

  • 30 minutes on the treadmill or arctrainer with sprint intervals
  • Lower pulley row, bent over barbell row, lateral pull down, lower back extensions
  • Bicep curls, reverse bicep curls

THURSDAY:
Legs

  • Dead lifts, leg press, lunges, abductor, adductor

FRIDAY:
Yoga/walking/day off

I also try to work on my abs every day, but not for too long. I’m a firm believer that if you are lifting correctly, you are engaging your core the entire time, and therefore your abs can use a bit of a break. And on that note, I’m off to the gym!

Leave a little love xoxo

