Must Read: The Fashion File by Janie Bryant

 I have a bad habit of collecting books. I have stacks and stacks of books that can’t fit in my bookshelf. But my favorite type of book to collect. Style books. I love perusing pages for chic inspiration, style tips, and new outfit ideas. Enter The Fashion File by Janie Bryant, the super chic costumer of Mad Men. This show has been a huge inspiration culturally and style wise.

I have always had a thing for vintage style. As a kid, I collected antique and vintage hats, and by the age of 20, I had a collection of vintage dresses that rivaled some costume closets. Bryant’s book not only inspired some great new ideas for vintage style, but also gave me an greater appreciation for what she does.

I’ve now been on the Ebay hunt for vintage brooches, been hunting vintage stores for chic clutches and full, circle skirts, and have been trying to find new and amazing ways to tie a super chic scarf for summer. In short, the book has made me want to be more chic. I’m dying to find some super chic summer button-up blouses that I can pair with full skirts, wear open over tank dresses, and with super slim cigarette pants, this first look is my inspiration. 


I’ve been so inspired that I think I’m going to sign up for an introductory millinery course at FIT this fall. It’s something I’ve been thinking about for a while, and it fits in my schedule, so why not find a new creative outlet?

Leave a little love xoxo

