Must Hear: Rave On Buddy Holly

When the lovely ladies of Matchbook Magazine featured the new release of Rave On Buddy Holly a collection of Buddy Holly covers in issue 6, I knew immediately that I had to have it.

I discovered Buddy Holly last year. A little late, I know, but I had spent so much time trying to find new and interesting underground indie bands, that I hadn’t spent near enough time discovering music of the past. I had always known who Buddy Holly was (I had after all, watched La Bamba starring Lou Diamond Phillips at least 20 times as a kid), but had never taken the time to fully appreciate until my adult life.

This album of covers is a must have for any fan. My favorite track? Surprisingly, it’s “(You’re So Square) Baby, I Don’t Care”, by Cee-Lo, although “Everyday” by Fiona Apple and Jon Brion is a close second. This album was my soundtrack all last weekend during the 4th of July festivities, needless to say, I’m a little obsessed right now!

Leave a little love xoxo

