Drink List: Lemon Lavender Martini

I have a deep love for combining the flavors of lemon and lavender. I’ve made cupcakes, and biscotti using these flavors, but this is the first time I’ve combine the two in a drink. There are plenty of recipes floating around, but here are some tips on how I made mine.

I ended up using some dried lavender instead of fresh because the lavender in my garden has been suffering because of this stifling heat, and I happen to have a ton of dried lavender sitting around. I doubled the infusion time with the simple syrup, which gave it a really strong and sweet lavender taste. I also added a little bit of limoncello. I have a habit of trying to make two alcohol cocktails (after working at a bar and making so many Long Island Iced Teas, who can blame me), and a little bit of sweetness definitely didn’t hinder this drink.

I tested the recipe on a couple of my girlfriends who thought it was a perfect afternoon cocktail in this weather. It didn’t hurt that we were helping a friend prep to attend a wedding, cocktails always make that better!

Ingredients
1 oz. vodka
1/2 oz. simple syrup
1/2 oz. limoncello
juice of half a lemon

Put all ingredients into a cocktail shaker, shake it up and strain into a glass. Garnish with a lemon twist, lemon rind, or maybe even a sprig of fresh lavender.

Side Note: How great would it be to take some sugar and dried lavender and put into a food processor, and rim the martini glass with that? Maybe that’ll be my next project!

One thought on “Drink List: Lemon Lavender Martini

Leave a little love xoxo

