Must Read: Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer

I have been involved in food politics for several years now. I read every article that I come across, watch several food documentaries, and have picked up various books on the subject over the years. So it’s only natural that I would pick up a copy of Jonathan Safran Foer’s Eating Animals at some point. Although Foer is mostly known for being a fiction writer, his foray into non-fiction is most definitely notable.

Having been so fascinated by food politics throughout my young adulthood, I figured Foer’s book would reaffirm many of the things I already was aware of and confirm what I had heard about in movies like Food Inc., and books like The Omnivore’s Dilemma, but Foer’s book did so much more.

Not only did it give me the facts to make educated decisions about what I eat and how my food choices affect the planet, well-being, and lifestyles of others, but it also gave me many philosophical questions to ponder. I love that Foer wrote the book to be able to better discuss the idea of eating meat with his newly born child, and I felt like the arguments were for a greater good than just discussing ones personal viewpoints.

I’d hate to make anyone think I’m imposing my food viewpoints on them, but I am a big believer in educating yourself and making decisions based on that. What can I say, maybe I took the term “you are what you eat,” a little too to heart! 🙂

Leave a little love xoxo

