Must Read: Zelda: A Biography by Nancy Milford

I have been slogging through this book for a few weeks now. I mentioned it earlier, here, and this past weekend I finally took the time to finish it.

I have always loved biographies of really amazing and interesting women, I generally gravitate towards entertainment type figures such as Audrey Hepburn, or Vivien Leigh, but after reading The Age of Innocence, I couldn’t help but pick up this biography of one of the most famous women of the jazz age.

Her relationship with F. Scott Fitzgerald is historic, as is their lives of luxury and lavishness during one of New York’s most prominent times. What I didn’t know was that Zelda suffered from great mental imbalance later on in her life and her and Scott’s relationship took a great turn.

I will say though, as hard of a read as it was, I still very much enjoyed reading about her growing up in a turn of the century south, her devil may care attitude, and her adventures throughout New York and Paris in the early 20th century.

Leave a little love xoxo

