Drink List: Concord Lavender Martini


I absolutely love concord grape season. I love the deep purple rich color, the texture, and the sour flavors. Usually I end up eating them all before I have a chance to make anything with them, but this time I managed to keep a few aside to experiment with making drinks. I had this idea after the Purple Rain cocktail at Lure Fishbar here in New York. And although my cocktail ended up nothing like it, it ended up taking a life of it’s own.

Lavender Grape Martini

  • 1.5 oz vodka
  • .25 oz creme de cassis
  • 1 oz concord grape juice
  • .5 oz lavender simple syrup (or regular!)

I started by removing the seeds from the grapes, and pureeing the grapes (skin included) in a food processor with some lavender simple syrup. Then I strained the grapes through cheesecloth to end up with a nice sour grape juice.

Unfortunately, it ended up being a little bit too tart for my liking, so I added a bit of creme de cassis (and by a little, I mean a little), shook it up with some ice, and strained into a martini glass. The finish was herbal, a bit sour, with just a touch of sugar flavor. Perfect for the summer to fall transition!

Leave a little love xoxo

