Sugary Sweet Skulls

Halloween is by far my favorite holiday. It’s my mom’s birthday so it has always been a huge ordeal in my household. Decorated to the nines, a huge party, and candy for days. This year, I’ve decided to take over the party flair from my mom (I so wish she were going to be here), and if I’m taking over, I am really taking over- go big or go home.

As a huge fan of the 1920s, I’ve been using that as my inspiration, and if I’ve learned anything from the pages of Hemingway, Fitzgerald, and Wharton it’s that in the 1920s, people loved their absinthe. Traditionally, absinthe is served with a sugar cube and ice cold water to slowly melt the sugar into the drink.

So what better way to make absinthe a bit more Halloween-y, than to make skull shaped sugar cubes. I read this tutorial, and although I melted them the first time (I got distracted and left them in the oven too long), but the second time they were absolutely perfect. They were surprisingly easy to make, took hardly any time, and are going to be a great addition to the party. And although we don’t have traditional absinthe glasses, I picked up these small drinking glasses for 50 cents each at the thrift store. I just hope everyone is a anise fan like me!

One thought on “Sugary Sweet Skulls

Leave a little love xoxo

