Resolutions and Goals

I’m a bit obsessive when it comes to goals and resolutions. I have a million goal lists- bucket lists, 30 before 30 lists, goals I set each birthday, monthly goals, and of course, New Year’s Resolutions. I really had a solid New Year’s Resolution this year- I was going to get a full-time job in a field I was passionate about and get out of the freelancing game. But of course, that was shockingly taken care of before the New Year (yay!), so now I’m back at square one. I’ve thought about making a list of several resolutions, but I feel like a resolution is so much different than a goal. Goals are something that can be checked off, whereas, to me, resolutions are really about overall growth and change.

I always set the resolution to be a better friend, daughter, and lover, and while that is obviously at the top of my list again this year, I feel like 2012 is the year to add something more and new. So this year is going to be the year where I:

  1. Become a better, more committed writer- blog more, finish all the screenplays I’ve started, and get all the thoughts, ideas, and stories I have in my head onto paper. 
  2. Manage my stress levels more (enough said).
  3. Respect my body as my temple- drink less, eat more fruits and veggies, move, stretch, bend.
  4. Floss (see above).
  5. Be more patient with everyone around me, especially on New York City subways!

I’m sure this list will grow, change shape, etc., as my year progresses, but it feels good, almost adult to make resolutions that pertain to my own personality flaws.

What about you? What are some of your resolutions and goals for 2012?

One thought on “Resolutions and Goals

Leave a little love xoxo

