Ginger and Lemon Oatmeal Creme Pies

 
When I was a kid, we almost always had Little Debbie snacks in the house. Usually they were purchased for one a day to go into my lunch, but I could easily put away two or three of those plastic wrapped cakes/cookies/treats in a day (seriously, I don’t know how I ended up as healthy as I was as a child). But one of my favorites, still to this day, is the oatmeal cream pie. And while I won’t be eating a Little Debbie oatmeal cream pie anytime soon (the ingredient list alone makes me shudder), I couldn’t help but trying to make my own variation of them.

I used this recipe, which used a Paula Deen amount of butter, but seemed fairly simple and straightforward. I also choose to use a buttercream frosting for the center instead of the usual marshmallow fluff insides. But when I tried the buttercream, it was ridiculously sweet, so I decided to play to my audience (primarily Jason), by adding fresh grated ginger and a bit of meyer lemon juice. The result was perfect- sweet and delectable cookies filled with a creamy inside with just enough tang and spice to really get your tastebuds going.

Leave a little love xoxo

