Gym Etiquette

Photo via Bon Impressions

I’ve spent a lot of time in the gym. In high school, I used to spend an hour lifting weights and running after cheerleading practice, in college I used the gym as a way to destress from studying constantly and the rain of the Pacific Northwest, I worked in a gym post college, and largely decided on the building I’m living in due to the fact that there is a gym in the basement. So, needless to say, my love of the gym runs deep.

But one thing I cannot stand at all is poor gym etiquette. And I’m not talking not putting the weights back or wiping down the machines if you leave sweat on them, that is stuff everyone should know. No, I’m talking the little things that you might not even realize you’re doing, but it’s driving everyone next to you crazy.

  1.  Avoid the cell phone chatter. In today’s day and age, it seems like no one can put their cell phones down for more than a minute, but I feel like you owe it to your body to avoid the distractions for an hour and focus on why you’re there. It’s hard for those around you to focus on their reps and getting the best workout they can when they’re distracted by what so and so did with so and so. If you absolutely have to talk, step out for a few minutes!
  2. Keep the volume down. Whether it’s the headphones in your ears, or the TV in your building gym, it’s not only distracting, but it’s also obnoxious. If I wanted to watch “The Bachelor” or Fox News, or listen to hip hop on full blast, I would, but I don’t, so please don’t make me!
  3. Be mindful of where you stand. I know that you may be doing quick reps to keep your heart rate up, but that’s no excuse to stand right in front of the weight rack while you’re lifting. Those next to you may also be doing reps, and waiting to be able to grab or put their weights away can make that pretty difficult!
  4. Know how to count. This is neurotic, but try to put the weights in the order from lightest to heaviest. It makes everyone’s life easier and saves us all time when we are looking for the 15s and they are mixed in somewhere between the 40 and 45 pound weights. 
  5. Avoid the gym if your stomach is upset. I don’t want to come across as insensitive, and I know that everyone can have bodily function issues while workingout, but know when it’s time to go home. There is a guy that works out in my gym that often has pretty bad issues while on the treadmill, unfortunately it gets so bad that it’s nearly impossible to work out next to him. 

So there are my few tips for keeping the gym harmonious for the people around you. And trust me, the more you give out good gym karma, the more you get it back!

Leave a little love xoxo

