Mexican Style Salad

I have something really pathetic to admit. I pack myself a salad at least once a week, but it always goes bad when I decide to go get a piece of pizza for lunch instead. But the strange thing is that if I go buy myself a salad, I’ll always eat it with fervor and enjoy it. So, in the spirit of trying to be a little bit healthy and more budget friendly in the second quarter of the year, I’ve been experimenting with packing myself some interesting salads and seeing if I can convince myself that it takes the place of Two Boots.

The first salad I’ve decided to try out is a Mexican inspired salad. Maybe it’s my ridiculous craving for nachos as of late, or the fact that I deeply miss my old roommate who lived off Mexican food, but I had this idea and feel like it’s genius. The best part for me is that I feel like I can completely go without dressing and the juiciness of tomatoes, beans, and jalapenos is totally enough.

Ingredients 

  • 2 cups mixed greens (of your choosing)
  • 1 cup corn (I used frozen)
  • 1 small can jalapenos (go for the nacho style ones)
  • 1 tomatoe
  • 1 cup black beans
  • Pepper jack cheese (why would I ever put an amount on this, add as much as you want!)

I choose to keep my ingredients chopped in large chunks, for me that always works better with a salad so I feel like I’m eating some serious food. You could totally add some avocado or raw onion (I’m allergic to both) and it’d be incredible as well. 

One thought on “Mexican Style Salad

Leave a little love xoxo

