Red Velvet Whoopie Pies with White Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

I thought I had reached my red velvet saturation point, but when a friends birthday happened over the past weekend and they liked “all things red velvet,” I managed to find a new red velvet recipe that I couldn’t wait to try. And, not being one to make anything easy on myself, I decided to make a white chocolate cream cheese frosting as opposed to a typical buttercream. I followed this recipe with a few ingredient alterations (see below), and added a few squares of melted and cooled white chocolate.

The result was a rich, dense cake with a creamy, tangy delicious center. I was surprised as to how great these turned out (my whoopie pies in the past haven’t exactly been amazing), and they were certainly a hit at the party!

Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup dutch processed cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon red gel food coloring
  • 1 cup buttermilk

2 thoughts on “Red Velvet Whoopie Pies with White Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

Leave a little love xoxo

