Cultivating a Sense of Style

Sometimes being a “style blogger” (not that I really am) can be difficult. I’m in my mid-20s, trying to sail the difficult waters of becoming an adult and all the choices that go with it. I’m constantly wondering if I’m on the right career path, if this city is the right city for me,  and if I’m taking care enough of my body. When I start to navigate the lists of blogs that I find inspiration with, the pressure mounts.

When I first started reading style blogs, I took so much interest in the ways that girls were putting together outfits. I loved to see what other style bloggers were wearing and how they put it together. But, a couple years into this, and it’s become all about the “stuff.” I still take great interest in what style bloggers are wearing, but often times I find myself looking at the brands, the prices, and thinking “that will never be me.”

I think I’m starting to miss the point…

When did my life become about the stuff again? For so long I had stopped caring about the brand of my bag, or weather or not my jewelry bore the Tiffany & Co., and started to cultivate a collection of pieces, old and new alike, that I really enjoyed. But somewhere along the line I started to obsess over having the latest J.Crew sweater I’d seen on bloggers everywhere, or the Celine bag that all the San Francisco fashionistas seemed to be carrying.

When in truth, it doesn’t really matter.

Somewhere along these lines I stopped enjoying playing dress up. My classic pieces got pushed aside in favor of this weeks trends, and my gorgeous vintage dresses got pushed to the back of my closet in favor of comfort. And slowly, but surely, I started feeling the negative effects. I felt pressured to dress and look a certain way and it started to make me feel uncomfortable. It started to make me feel less like “me”.

So starting this week I’ll be working on weekly entries on cultivating your personal sense of style. So join me, every Tuesday, here on The Dandy Life to start the journey towards cultivating your personal sense of style.

2 thoughts on “Cultivating a Sense of Style

  1. Thanks for posting this! It’s always good to remember that style is different from trendy. It is easy to get caught up in the “I need this” cycle.

Leave a little love xoxo

