Caramelized Onion Jam

When Jason and I got back from the market with our CSA box and pulled out yet another bunch of onions, we got a bit stressed. We already had a fridge full of onions, and we couldn’t use them fast enough, so now what were we going to do with an additional bunch?

I decided to go with caramelized onion jam, it would use up plenty of our onions, and I could use it on everything from sandwiches, to pizza, to pastas. The one problem I had was that nearly every recipe used chicken stock of some sort, and I was out. I used this recipe, but modified water instead of chicken stock. So far I’ve used the caramelized onions on smoked salmon sandwiches, toast, pizza, and vegan mac n’ cheese. They pack a ton of flavor without the calories, an awesome condiment option to add to anything!

 

One thought on “Caramelized Onion Jam

  1. Pingback: I love lists, Friday! – Shutterbean

Leave a little love xoxo

